Skip to content

Can't access SS remotely

edited August 2020 in SecuritySpy
I have read the manual and have found a few posts here on the forum and have followed the troubleshooting advice but I still am not able to access SS remotely. Please bare with me I'm still learning all this as I go.

I have a Linksys EA7500 with UPnP enabled. I have also reset the router to factory defaults and tried to use manual port forwarding. There's a fresh install of Catalina on my 2012 Mac Mini with a static IP address. My veiwcam.me address has a green light with all the necessary boxes checked in Web settings of SS. I have a Netgear GS108PE V3 managed switch with a static IP for 2 Amcrest IP8M-T2249 cameras with static IP's.

When I try to access the SS server with the iOS app using the viewcam.me address, it asks for a Port # for the viewcam.me address which I'm not really sure what to use here but I've tried 8000 - 8001 but it fails to connect to server.

I'm very happy with SS it runs great and love the features but like I said I'm new to this and could have easily overlooked something.

Any idea what's going on?

Comments

• I am having this trouble with the iOS app as well. Need to start a complete Rework of the access to see if that fixes it
  • I really don't know what else to try. I have tried turning off UPnP and doing the manual port forwarding but that didn't help. I've tried it with UPnP and still nothing.

I do want to confirm that when doing the manual port forwarding that in the port forwarding settings of the router the device IP should be the Mac Mini's static IP address?

I don't have anything in between the modem and the router but like I said I do have the managed Netgear switch. Would that have anything to do with it?

When I'm in the network and go to the viewcam.me page in a browser, I get a page that says Network status OK -- WAN connection established - Control Panel address not configured --