Skip to content

Hackintosh - CPU choice

edited September 2018 in SecuritySpy
Ben, I've been using a firmware hacked 2009 Mac Pro 12-core for about five years, and it's done okay with my 15-16 cameras running at 1080/15fps. However, I'm going to sell it while it's worth something. I can build a cheap hackintosh for $700 that will use far less power.

My question:
Is there any advantage to the 8th generation i5 over the 7th, in terms of hardware acceleration?

Comments

• According to the datasheets for the 7th-generation vs. the 8th-generation "Core" processors, they have the same specifications in terms of hardware-accelerated video decoding, which is the ability to decode up to 16 simultaneous H.264/H.265 streams at up to 4K resolution (3840 × 2160). This is really outstanding performance, and allows SecuritySpy to process up to 16 cameras with virtually no CPU usage, allowing a high number of cameras to be used on a single Mac.

However there are currently no production Macs with 8th-generation Core CPUs, so for guaranteed full compatibility with macOS it might be a good idea instead to use one of the CPUs that is already used by Apple - perhaps the i7-7700 or i7-7700K, which are currently used in the high-end iMacs and provide great performance.

Avoid the Xeon processors, which don't have as powerful hardware-accelerated video processing capabilities.
  • Great advice, thank you. I didn't even think about 8th gen support. It's a bit frustrating that Apple is always late to adopt the new Intel line of processors. It seems they are moving away from the Desktop market, but that's off topic.

It's mind boggling to me that I can buy a mid-level laptop with an i5-7200 CPU and it will support all of my streams. I have exactly 16 cameras and they are only 1080/15.

Thanks Ben