Skip to content

SS vs NVR vs NAS

edited July 2017 in SecuritySpy
I'm new to having security cameras and have only experienced having three NestCams at one location and I must say they were pretty slick with the ease of deployment, analytics, fast iOS scrubbing, easy to share a clip from one cam at least and audio I/o by default. Now, at a new location (a 2100 SF residential property) I'd like to reconsider all of the possibilities. From what I can tell there are 4 fundamental possibilities:

1) SS (software NVR)
2) NVR (hardware, integrated POE SW)
3) NAS (synology or QNAP)
4) WiFi Cloud-based (NestCam or Arlo)

I'm a software developer and have done a lot of my own premise wiring.... I'm not afraid of getting my hands dirty or for things to get technical. However I'm struggling with understanding the relative benefits of each approach.

Things that are important to me:
-hardware must be mounted in a machine room with no direct physical access.
-all NVR operations should be available remotely via LAN or wan etc.
-audio recording for each camera
-clip saving should be easy and can save to any network drive
-full Mac compatible.
-easy IOS viewing of live feed.
-easy and precise marking of in and out points for clips to be saved.
-ability to synchronize or reconcile data on the cameras card if the NVR went down and the data is available on the camera SD card.
-reliable and flexible. So far SS seems fragile. I'm sure it's just me and I need to learn more about SS.
-certain events should be saved to a remote FTP just in case the NVR is stolen during a smash and grab.
-NVR data traffic to and from the cameras should be logically and or physically isolated from the rest of the network. With SS I assume I'd need a managed Ethernet switch to allow Vlans to be established.

Anyway, I look forward to hearing your comments about these different approaches.

Thanks,

Robert

Comments